How many railroad crossings are in Santa Ana, California?
The FRA inventory of lists 35 public railroad crossings in Santa Ana, California.
- Public crossings
- 35
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 32
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 89%
- Most trains a day reported
- 70
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 17
- Gate share compared with the state
- 27 percentage points higher
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 89% of these crossings.
- Gates3189%
- Flashing lights without reported gates13%
- Signs without reported gates or lights00%
- Other or not reported39%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Which crossings in Santa Ana, California have the most trains?
- The crossing on E 17th St reports 70 trains a day.
- The crossing on E 17th St reports 67 trains a day.
- The crossing on E Chestnut Av reports 65 trains a day.
- The crossing on Grand Av reports 65 trains a day.
- The crossing on S Lyon St reports 65 trains a day.
They are on E 17th St, E Chestnut Av, Grand Av and S Lyon St. 6 of the 35 public crossings in Santa Ana, California have a quiet-zone designation.
Train quiet zones in Santa Ana, California
6 public crossings in Santa Ana, California have a quiet-zone designation.
- The crossing on E 17th St is in a 24-hour quiet zone, with Southern California Regional Rail Authority as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on E 17th St is in a 24-hour quiet zone, with Southern California Regional Rail Authority as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on E Santa Clara Av is in a 24-hour quiet zone, with Southern California Regional Rail Authority as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on E Santa Ana Bl is in a 24-hour quiet zone, with Southern California Regional Rail Authority as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on E 4th St is in a 24-hour quiet zone, with Southern California Regional Rail Authority as the reporting railroad.
- The crossing on E Santa Clara Av is in a 24-hour quiet zone, with Southern California Regional Rail Authority as the reporting railroad.
Railroad bridges over roads in this city
- METROLINK BNSF over 1 ST STREET
Vertical clearance under the bridge: 15 ft 5 in (4.72 m), as recorded in the National Bridge Inventory, 2025.
- METROLINK BNSF over FIRST STREET
Vertical clearance under the bridge: 16 ft 2 in (4.93 m), as recorded in the National Bridge Inventory, 2025.
- BNSF AMTRAK METRO over INTERSTATE 5
Vertical clearance under the bridge: 16 ft 10 in (5.15 m), as recorded in the National Bridge Inventory, 2025.
Clearance is the measured height recorded by the state in the National Bridge Inventory. The sign at the bridge can show a different figure.
Source: FHWA National Bridge Inventory, 2025.
Crossings here named on grant lists
- E 17th St, crossing 026699P
Named on the California Section 190 grade separation list for 2025-2026, a list of crossings where the state may help pay for a bridge or underpass. List adopted 12 June 2025.
- E Santa Ana Bl, crossing 026702V
Named on the California Section 190 grade separation list for 2025-2026, a list of crossings where the state may help pay for a bridge or underpass. List adopted 12 June 2025.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- E 17th StSanta Ana34,739 vehicles a day2023 road count
- E 17th StSanta Ana34,739 vehicles a day2023 road count
- E Chestnut AvSanta Ana7,200 vehicles a day2020 road count
- Grand AvSanta Ana30,400 vehicles a day2011 road count
- S Lyon StSanta Ana14,000 vehicles a day2003 road count
- E McFadden AvSanta Ana20,000 vehicles a day2013 road count
- Ritchey StSanta Ana9,000 vehicles a day2003 road count
- E Santa Clara AvSanta Ana8,198 vehicles a day2023 road count
- E Santa Ana BlSanta Ana20,811 vehicles a day2025 road count
- E 4th StSanta Ana13,432 vehicles a day2025 road count
- E Santa Clara AvSanta Ana8,198 vehicles a day2023 road count
- Chestnut StreetSanta Ana13,200 vehicles a day1989 road count
- Mc Fadden AvenueSanta Ana15,000 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Edinger AvenueSanta Ana23,600 vehicles a day1989 road count
- East Saint Gertrude PlaceSanta Ana2,400 vehicles a day1989 road count
- Warner AvenueSanta Ana25,100 vehicles a day1989 road count
- Evergreen StreetSanta Ana1,000 vehicles a day1989 road count
- Halladay StreetSanta Ana5,000 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Orange AvenueSanta Ana1,000 vehicles a day1988 road count
- South Main StreetSanta Ana29,900 vehicles a day1989 road count
- Segerstrom AvenueSanta Ana2,000 vehicles a day1988 road count
- Bristol StreetSanta Ana34,500 vehicles a day1989 road count
- Flower StreetSanta Ana12,100 vehicles a day1989 road count
- Dyer RoadSanta Ana20,200 vehicles a day1989 road count
- Yale StreetSanta Ana1,600 vehicles a day1989 road count
- Susan StreetSanta Ana2,500 vehicles a day1995 road count
- Fairview StreetSanta Ana37,400 vehicles a day1989 road count
- Greenville StreetSanta Ana6,300 vehicles a day1989 road count
- Dyer RoadSanta Ana20,000 vehicles a day1989 road count
- Raitt StreetSanta Ana3,900 vehicles a day1977 road count
- Bear StreetSanta Ana6,800 vehicles a day1977 road count
- Dyer RoadSanta Ana28,000 vehicles a day1989 road count
- Carnegie AveSanta Ana2,000 vehicles a day1975 road count
- Lake Center DriveSanta Ana1,500 vehicles a day1989 road count
- West Alton AvenueSanta Ana10,000 vehicles a day2017 road count
Trains blocking a crossing in Santa Ana? How to report it.Blocked crossing rules in California
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates