How many railroad crossings are in San Luis Obispo, California?
The FRA inventory of lists 4 public railroad crossings in San Luis Obispo, California.
- Public crossings
- 4
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 4
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 75%
- Most trains a day reported
- 8
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 1
- Gate share compared with the state
- 13 percentage points higher
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 75% of these crossings.
- Gates375%
- Flashing lights without reported gates00%
- Signs without reported gates or lights125%
- Other or not reported00%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Which crossings in San Luis Obispo, California have the most trains?
- The crossing on Pedestrian reports 8 trains a day.
- The crossing on Orcutt Rd reports 8 trains a day.
- The crossing on Foothill Boulevard reports 3 trains a day.
- The crossing on Marsh Street reports 3 trains a day.
They are on Pedestrian, Orcutt Rd, Foothill Boulevard and Marsh Street. None of the 4 public crossings in San Luis Obispo, California has a quiet-zone designation.
Railroad bridges over roads in this city
- UP RR & AMTRAK over JOHNSON AVE
Vertical clearance under the bridge: 14 ft 7 in (4.45 m), as recorded in the National Bridge Inventory, 2025.
- MONTEREY STREET over MONTEREY STREET
Vertical clearance under the bridge: 15 ft 8 in (4.78 m), as recorded in the National Bridge Inventory, 2025.
- UP RR & AMTRAK over TANK FARM ROAD
Vertical clearance under the bridge: 15 ft 1 in (4.60 m), as recorded in the National Bridge Inventory, 2025.
- UP RR & AMTRAK over US HIGHWAY 101
Vertical clearance under the bridge: 15 ft 1 in (4.62 m), as recorded in the National Bridge Inventory, 2025.
Clearance is the measured height recorded by the state in the National Bridge Inventory. The sign at the bridge can show a different figure.
Source: FHWA National Bridge Inventory, 2025.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
Crossings in San Luis Obispo County
Trains blocking a crossing in San Luis Obispo? How to report it.Blocked crossing rules in California
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates