How many railroad crossings are in Tuscaloosa, Alabama?
The FRA inventory of lists 67 public railroad crossings in Tuscaloosa, Alabama.
- Public crossings
- 67
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 66
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 43%
- Most trains a day reported
- 28
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 37
- Gate share compared with the state
- 9 percentage points higher
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 43% of these crossings.
- Gates2943%
- Flashing lights without reported gates69%
- Signs without reported gates or lights3146%
- Other or not reported11%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Which crossings in Tuscaloosa, Alabama have the most trains?
- The crossing on Tannehill Parkway reports 28 trains a day.
- The crossing on Upper Hull Road reports 21 trains a day.
- The crossing on McPherson Landing reports 21 trains a day.
- The crossing on 35th St reports 21 trains a day.
- The crossing on 32nd St/City Dump Rd reports 21 trains a day.
They are on Tannehill Parkway, Upper Hull Road, McPherson Landing, 35th St and 32nd St/City Dump Rd. None of the 67 public crossings in Tuscaloosa, Alabama has a quiet-zone designation.
Where can you watch trains in Tuscaloosa?
2 busy crossings here sit next to a public park or station, so you can watch from a public place.
See where to watch trains in Tuscaloosa
Parks and stations © OpenStreetMap contributors
Railroad bridges over roads in this city
- NS RR Active over US 82
Vertical clearance under the bridge: 17 ft 2 in (5.24 m), as recorded in the National Bridge Inventory, 2025.
- GM&O RR Active over US 82
Vertical clearance under the bridge: 17 ft 8 in (5.39 m), as recorded in the National Bridge Inventory, 2025.
Clearance is the measured height recorded by the state in the National Bridge Inventory. The sign at the bridge can show a different figure.
Source: FHWA National Bridge Inventory, 2025.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- Tannehill ParkwayTuscaloosa2,857 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Upper Hull RoadTuscaloosa330 vehicles a day2006 road count
- McPherson LandingTuscaloosa1 vehicle a day1987 road count
- 35th StTuscaloosa11,270 vehicles a day2022 road count
- 32nd St/City Dump RdTuscaloosa190 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Lucille DrTuscaloosa51 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Dudley RdTuscaloosa570 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Hagler Coaling RdTuscaloosa1,499 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Lower Coaling RdTuscaloosa150 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Grimes Crossing RdTuscaloosa860 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Buttermilk RdTuscaloosa7,467 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Pelham Heights RdTuscaloosa827 vehicles a day2022 road count
- 26th Ave ETuscaloosa5,270 vehicles a day2011 road count
- 19th Ave ETuscaloosa8,945 vehicles a day2022 road count
- 6th Ave EastTuscaloosa15,560 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Hackberry LaneTuscaloosa19,666 vehicles a day2022 road count
- 10th AveTuscaloosa9,755 vehicles a day2022 road count
- 12th AvenueTuscaloosa4,871 vehicles a day2022 road count
- 17th AveTuscaloosa1,968 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Hargrove RdTuscaloosa4,288 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Greensboro AvenueTuscaloosa9,590 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Industrial DrTuscaloosa530 vehicles a day2011 road count
- 20th StTuscaloosa1,590 vehicles a day2011 road count
- 18th StTuscaloosa1,820 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Jemison AveTuscaloosa650 vehicles a day2011 road count
- 21st StreetTuscaloosa4,725 vehicles a day2022 road count
- 32nd St / Ziegler PlantTuscaloosa80 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Black Warrior Pkwy/64th StTuscaloosa7,083 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Harper RdTuscaloosa5,391 vehicles a day2022 road count
- 17th StTuscaloosa1 vehicle a day1997 road count
- 30th AveTuscaloosa1,500 vehicles a day2022 road count
- 10th StTuscaloosa1,020 vehicles a day2011 road count
- 9th StTuscaloosa180 vehicles a day2011 road count
- 26th AveTuscaloosa1,610 vehicles a day2011 road count
- 25th AveTuscaloosa380 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Greensboro AveTuscaloosa9,590 vehicles a day2011 road count
- 23rd AveTuscaloosa380 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Queen City AveTuscaloosa2,687 vehicles a day2022 road count
- 12th AveTuscaloosa4,871 vehicles a day2022 road count
- 10th AveTuscaloosa9,755 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Hackberry LnTuscaloosa19,666 vehicles a day2022 road count
- 6th AveTuscaloosa15,560 vehicles a day2022 road count
- 24th StTuscaloosa2,589 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Exchange AveTuscaloosa160 vehicles a day2011 road count
- 31st StTuscaloosa1,445 vehicles a day2022 road count
- 43rd AvenueTuscaloosa250 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Kicker RoadTuscaloosa2,776 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Universal Heights RdTuscaloosa104 vehicles a day2019 road count
- Holt RdTuscaloosa1,873 vehicles a day2022 road count
- 43rd AveTuscaloosa516 vehicles a day2019 road count
Crossings in Tuscaloosa County
Trains blocking a crossing in Tuscaloosa? How to report it.Blocked crossing rules in Alabama
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates