How many railroad crossings are in Huntsville, Alabama?
The FRA inventory of lists 46 public railroad crossings in Huntsville, Alabama.
- Public crossings
- 46
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 44
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 15%
- Most trains a day reported
- 20
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 8
- Gate share compared with the state
- 19 percentage points lower
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 15% of these crossings.
- Gates715%
- Flashing lights without reported gates1941%
- Signs without reported gates or lights1839%
- Other or not reported24%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Which crossings in Huntsville, Alabama have the most trains?
- The crossing on Church Street Northwest reports 20 trains a day.
- The crossing on Holmes Ave NW reports 20 trains a day.
- The crossing on Derrick St NW reports 20 trains a day.
- The crossing on Slaughter Rd reports 20 trains a day.
- The crossing on Quietdale Dr NE reports 16 trains a day.
They are on Church Street Northwest, Holmes Ave NW, Derrick St NW, Slaughter Rd and Quietdale Dr NE. None of the 46 public crossings in Huntsville, Alabama has a quiet-zone designation.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- Church Street NorthwestHuntsville6,544 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Holmes Ave NWHuntsville127,353 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Derrick St NWHuntsville3,430 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Slaughter RdHuntsville7,260 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Quietdale Dr NEHuntsville1,222 vehicles a day2015 road count
- Oakwood Ave NEHuntsville13,292 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Pratt AveHuntsville14,700 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Cleveland AveHuntsville480 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Meridian RelocHuntsville6,039 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Clinton AveHuntsville11,257 vehicles a day2022 road count
- St Clair AveHuntsville2,813 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Monroe StHuntsville3,540 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Governors DrHuntsville44,652 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Bob Wallace AveHuntsville15,350 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Drake AveHuntsville18,907 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Airport Rd SWHuntsville41,540 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Jones Valley Dr SWHuntsville618 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Byrd Spring Rd SWHuntsville3,634 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Lily Flagg RdHuntsville5,387 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Haysland RdHuntsville60 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Whitesburg DrHuntsville13,400 vehicles a day2012 road count
- Weatherly RdHuntsville18,740 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Meadowbrook DrHuntsville1,015 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Kohler RdHuntsville910 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Hobbs Rd SEHuntsville9,152 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Green Cove RdHuntsville6,081 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Hegia Burrow RdHuntsville320 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Hobbs Island RdHuntsville3,498 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Eagletree LnHuntsville6,170 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Mountain Gap RdHuntsville7,373 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Ditto Marina PkwyHuntsville1,227 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Southhurst DrHuntsville500 vehicles a day2013 road count
- Blanda DrHuntsville5,830 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Charlotte DrHuntsville400 vehicles a day2014 road count
- Monroe St Hunts UtilHuntsville5,790 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Heart Of Huntsville DrHuntsville3,354 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Holmes AveHuntsville7,466 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Wholesale Ave NEHuntsville390 vehicles a day2011 road count
- James Record RdHuntsville4,593 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Short Pike RdHuntsville650 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Wall Triana HwyHuntsville21,489 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Higdon RdHuntsville230 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Chase RdHuntsville1,990 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Moores Mill RdHuntsville24,467 vehicles a day2022 road count
- Wind Rush RdHuntsville150 vehicles a day2011 road count
- Oletimers RdHuntsville230 vehicles a day2011 road count
Trains blocking a crossing in Huntsville? How to report it.Blocked crossing rules in Alabama
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates