How many public crossings does Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority report in California?
The FRA inventory of lists 31 public railroad crossings in California with Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority as the reporting railroad.
- Public crossings
- 31
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 26
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 65%
- Most trains a day reported
- 142
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 19
- Gate share compared with the state
- 3 percentage points higher
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Open Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority in the full map Members
Gates are reported at 65% of these crossings.
- Gates2065%
- Flashing lights without reported gates619%
- Signs without reported gates or lights00%
- Other or not reported516%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- Infinity WayMountain View1 vehicle a day2019 road count
- Dupont StreetSan Jose98 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Sunol StSan Jose1,649 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Auzerais AveSan Jose4,314 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Lincoln AveSan Jose8,570 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Race StSan Jose3,875 vehicles a day2025 road count
- Parkmoor AveSan Jose6,460 vehicles a day2025 road count
- Fruitdale AveSan Jose9,152 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Leigh AveSan Jose6,156 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Stokes AveSan Jose4,738 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Bascom AveSan Jose23,238 vehicles a day2024 road count
- Race Lrs Ped XingSan JoseNo road count has been reported.
- Fruitdale PedSan JoseNo road count has been reported.
- Bascom East PedSan JoseNo road count has been reported.
- Bascom West PedSan JoseNo road count has been reported.
- Pacific DrMountain ViewNo road count has been reported.
- Central ExpwyMountain View31,000 vehicles a day1989 road count
- Whisman Sta DrMountain View1,500 vehicles a day2000 road count
- Campbell AvenueCampbell4,824 vehicles a day2025 road count
- Kennedy AvenueCampbell4,764 vehicles a day2025 road count
- Orchard City DriveCampbell5,336 vehicles a day2025 road count
- Civic Center DriveCampbell6,785 vehicles a day2025 road count
- Campbell Station Pedestrian CrossingCampbellNo road count has been reported.
- Middlefield RoadMountain View19,500 vehicles a day1989 road count
- Logue AveMountain View250 vehicles a day1989 road count
- Orchard City DrCampbell200 vehicles a day2016 road count
- Fairchild DrMountain View350 vehicles a day1989 road count
- Hwy 101 Sb On-ramp At EllisMountain View13,000 vehicles a day1989 road count
- Hamilton AvenueCampbell56,241 vehicles a day2025 road count
- Winchester CircleLos Gatos400 vehicles a day1970 road count
- Ellis StMountain View15,000 vehicles a day1970 road count
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates