Railroad crossings in Jefferson County, West Virginia
The federal inventory lists 47 public railroad crossings in Jefferson County, West Virginia.
Inventory of .
- Public crossings
- 47
- Crossings with identified warning equipment
- 45
- Crossings reported with gates
- 57%
- Highest reported trains per day
- 29
- Reported incidents since 2016
- 5
- Gate share compared with the state
- 37 percentage points higher
Where the crossings are.
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 57% of these crossings.
- Gates2757%
- Flashing lights without reported gates1123%
- Signs without reported gates or lights715%
- Other or not reported24%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported equipment. Missing fields don't mean the equipment is absent.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a measure of crossing safety.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
Compare the reported train traffic.
Crossings are ordered by reported trains per day, from highest to lowest.
- ShepherdsTown PikeShenandoah Junction144588WGates reported29Trains per day2,600 vehicles per day2018 road count
- Flowing Springs RoadShenandoah Junction144590XGates reported29Trains per day3,600 vehicles per day2018 road count
- RIDGE ROADShenandoah Junction144591EGates reported29Trains per day850 vehicles per day2018 road count
- ENGLE SWITCH ROADHarpers Ferry144587PGates reported28Trains per day900 vehicles per day2018 road count
- 16TH AVENUECharles Town469360WGates reported28Trains per day500 vehicles per day2018 road count
- WARM SPRING ROADShenandoah Junction144592LGates reported26Trains per day200 vehicles per day2018 road count
- LUTHER JONES ROADShenandoah Junction144593TGates reported26Trains per day300 vehicles per day2018 road count
- OLD FURNACEHarpers Ferry144585BFlashing lights reported21Trains per day25 vehicles per day2012 road count
- MIDDLEWAY PIKECharles Town469366MGates reported16Trains per day9,900 vehicles per day2018 road count
- SUMMIT POINT ROADCharles Town469369HGates reported16Trains per day3,300 vehicles per day2018 road count
- WHEATLAND ROADRippon469373XGates reported16Trains per day450 vehicles per day2018 road count
- WITHERS LARUE ROADRippon469375LGates reported16Trains per day700 vehicles per day2018 road count
- SCOOTER LANERippon469378GSigns reported16Trains per day50 vehicles per day2012 road count
- LEWISVILLE ROADCharles Town469380HGates reported16Trains per day200 vehicles per day2018 road count
- HIGH STREETShepherdstown469342YGates reported14Trains per day1,700 vehicles per day2012 road count
- GERMAN STREETShepherdstown469343FGates reported14Trains per day1,100 vehicles per day2018 road count
- WASHINGTON STREETShepherdstown469345UGates reported14Trains per day5,100 vehicles per day2018 road count
- MORGAN GROVE ROADShepherdstown469348PGates reported14Trains per day800 vehicles per day2018 road count
- GARDNERS LANEShepherdstown469350RGates reported14Trains per day300 vehicles per day2018 road count
- WHITMERE ROADShepherdstown469354TGates reported14Trains per day150 vehicles per day2018 road count
- LUTHER JONES ROADShepherdstown469355AGates reported14Trains per day150 vehicles per day2018 road count
- SHANONDOAH JCT ROADShepherdstown469358VGates reported14Trains per day2,000 vehicles per day2018 road count
- ROUTE 9Ranson469361DGates reported14Trains per day4,400 vehicles per day2018 road count
- CRANES LANERanson469362KGates reported14Trains per day750 vehicles per day2018 road count
- PEDESTRIAN PATHWAYHarpers Ferry937521GOther or not reported5Trains per dayNo road count has been reported.
- PEDESTRIANHarpers Ferry937523VOther or not reported4Trains per dayNo road count has been reported.
- MILLVILLE ROADMillville141499UFlashing lights reported2Trains per day550 vehicles per day2018 road count
- BLAIR ROADMillville141500LSigns reported2Trains per day850 vehicles per day2018 road count
- Millville RoadMillville140580DFlashing lights reported1Trains per day684 vehicles per day2014 road count
- HALLTOWN ROADHalltown140583YFlashing lights reported1Trains per day1,200 vehicles per day2018 road count
- 5 AVENUECharles Town140590JFlashing lights reported1Trains per day10,100 vehicles per day2022 road count
- SOUTH PRESTON STREETCharles Town140591RSigns reported1Trains per day750 vehicles per day2012 road count
- NORTH MILDRED STREETCharles Town140592XGates reported1Trains per day3,125 vehicles per day2012 road count
- NORTH SAMUEL STREETCharles Town140593EFlashing lights reported1Trains per day1,500 vehicles per day2012 road count
- NORTH GEORGE STREETCharles Town140594LGates reported1Trains per day2,700 vehicles per day2022 road count
- N LAWRENCE STCharles Town140595TSigns reported1Trains per day900 vehicles per day2012 road count
- OLD CR 23Halltown140582SFlashing lights reported0Trains per day150 vehicles per day2014 road count
- OLD COUNTRY CLUB ROADHalltown140586UGates reported0Trains per day3,400 vehicles per day2018 road count
- FLOWING SPRING ROADCharles Town140587BGates reported0Trains per day4,600 vehicles per day2022 road count
- MIDDLEWAY PIKECharles Town140598NGates reported0Trains per day8,100 vehicles per day2018 road count
- EARLE RDCharles Town140600MFlashing lights reported0Trains per day550 vehicles per day2018 road count
- SHIRLEY RDSummit Point140602BFlashing lights reported0Trains per day400 vehicles per day2018 road count
- LEETOWN RDSummit Point140603HFlashing lights reported0Trains per day1,800 vehicles per day2018 road count
- HAWTHORNE AVENUESummit Point140604PSigns reported0Trains per day51 vehicles per day2013 road count
- CHURCH STSummit Point140605WSigns reported0Trains per day150 vehicles per day2014 road count
- SUMMIT POINT PIKESummit Point140607KFlashing lights reported0Trains per day2,000 vehicles per day2018 road count
- POTOMAC AVENUEKearneysville961322RSigns reported0Trains per day1,500 vehicles per day2018 road count
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Read about the data.