How many railroad crossings are in Nitro, West Virginia?
The FRA inventory of lists 16 public railroad crossings in Nitro, West Virginia.
- Public crossings
- 16
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 15
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 31%
- Most trains a day reported
- 5
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 7
- Gate share compared with the state
- 11 percentage points higher
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 31% of these crossings.
- Gates531%
- Flashing lights without reported gates319%
- Signs without reported gates or lights744%
- Other or not reported16%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Which crossings in Nitro, West Virginia have the most trains?
- The crossing on Pickens Rd reports 5 trains a day.
- The crossing on Pickens Rd reports 5 trains a day.
- The crossing on Pickens Rd reports 5 trains a day.
- The crossing on Mcjunkin Road reports 4 trains a day.
- The crossing on Pickens Road reports 4 trains a day.
They are on Pickens Rd, Mcjunkin Road and Pickens Road. None of the 16 public crossings in Nitro, West Virginia has a quiet-zone designation.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- Pickens RdNitro7,000 vehicles a day2012 road count
- Pickens RdNitro3,300 vehicles a day2012 road count
- Pickens RdNitro3,300 vehicles a day2012 road count
- Mcjunkin RoadNitro300 vehicles a day2018 road count
- Pickens RoadNitro7,400 vehicles a day2018 road count
- 19th StreetNitro100 vehicles a day2012 road count
- West 11th StreetNitro500 vehicles a day2012 road count
- Lock StreetNitro2,100 vehicles a day2020 road count
- Kapok StreetNitro202 vehicles a day2018 road count
- Walker StreetNitro150 vehicles a day2020 road count
- Center StreetNitro17,500 vehicles a day2018 road count
- Spring StreetNitroNo road count has been reported.
- Owens StreetNitroNo road count has been reported.
- Dupont LaneNitroNo road count has been reported.
- Cleveland AvenueNitro250 vehicles a day2012 road count
- Old Delta 18NitroNo road count has been reported.
Trains blocking a crossing in Nitro? How to report it.Blocked crossing rules in West Virginia
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates