How many railroad crossings are in Hartford, Connecticut?
The FRA inventory of lists 7 public railroad crossings in Hartford, Connecticut.
- Public crossings
- 7
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 7
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 43%
- Most trains a day reported
- 35
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 3
- Gate share compared with the state
- 5 percentage points lower
Where are these public crossings?
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 43% of these crossings.
- Gates343%
- Flashing lights without reported gates229%
- Signs without reported gates or lights229%
- Other or not reported00%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Which crossings in Hartford, Connecticut have the most trains?
- The crossing on Hamilton Street reports 35 trains a day.
- The crossing on Reserve Rd reports 2 trains a day.
- The crossing on Reserve Road reports 2 trains a day.
- The crossing on Maxim Road reports 1 train a day.
They are on Hamilton Street, Reserve Rd, Reserve Road and Maxim Road. None of the 7 public crossings in Hartford, Connecticut has a quiet-zone designation.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
How many trains pass each crossing?
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- Hamilton StreetHartford8,800 vehicles a day2018 road count
- Reserve RdHartford2,300 vehicles a day2021 road count
- Reserve RoadHartford2,300 vehicles a day2021 road count
- Maxim RoadHartford5,800 vehicles a day2018 road count
- Garden StHartford6,900 vehicles a day2021 road count
- Plainfield StHartford4,000 vehicles a day2018 road count
- Van Dyke Ave ConHartford2,300 vehicles a day2021 road count
Trains blocking a crossing in Hartford? How to report it.Blocked crossing rules in Connecticut
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates