Railroad crossings in Alleghany County, Virginia

The federal inventory lists 8 public railroad crossings in Alleghany County, Virginia.

Inventory of .

Public crossings
8
Public crossings with identified warning equipment
8
Public crossings reported with gates
88%
Highest reported trains per day
14
Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
0
Gate share compared with the state
22 percentage points higher

Where these public crossings are.

Browse the list
Crossings on page 1 in Alleghany County
Loading the map.

The map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.

Gates are reported at 88% of these crossings.

  • Gates788%
  • Flashing lights without reported gates00%
  • Signs without reported gates or lights113%
  • Other or not reported00%

Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported equipment. Missing fields don't mean the equipment is absent.

Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a measure of crossing safety.

Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.

Compare the reported train traffic.

Public crossings are ordered by reported trains per day, from highest to lowest.

Page 1 of 1
  1. CROSSING LNClifton Forge224514BSigns reported
    14Trains per day
    152 vehicles per day2012 road count
  2. HORSE MOUNTAIN RDCovington224511FGates reported
    10Trains per day
    2,023 vehicles per day2012 road count
  3. GRIFFITH RDClifton Forge224826JGates reported
    10Trains per day
    44 vehicles per day2012 road count
  4. ROSS LNClifton Forge224829EGates reported
    10Trains per day
    93 vehicles per day2012 road count
  5. GOLF COURSE VIEWClifton Forge224836PGates reported
    10Trains per day
    53 vehicles per day2012 road count
  6. BIG RIDGE RDCovington224493KGates reported
    9Trains per day
    28 vehicles per day2012 road count
  7. 10TH STIron Gate224652PGates reported
    8Trains per day
    185 vehicles per day2012 road count
  8. LONGDALE STATIONClifton Forge224832MGates reported
    6Trains per day
    125 vehicles per day2012 road count

Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Read about the data.