Railroad crossings in Ayer, Massachusetts
The federal inventory lists 11 public railroad crossings in Ayer, Massachusetts.
Inventory of .
- Public crossings
- 11
- Public crossings with identified warning equipment
- 9
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 45%
- Highest reported trains per day
- 35
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 0
- Gate share compared with the state
- 12 percentage points lower
Where these public crossings are.
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 45% of these crossings.
- Gates545%
- Flashing lights without reported gates00%
- Signs without reported gates or lights436%
- Other or not reported218%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported equipment. Missing fields don't mean the equipment is absent.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a measure of crossing safety.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
Compare the reported train traffic.
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains per day, from highest to lowest.
- Snake Hill RoadAyer052369CGates reported35Trains per day541 vehicles per day2021 road count
- Sandy Pond RoadAyer052370WGates reported35Trains per day4,483 vehicles per day2019 road count
- Groton-Harvard RoadAyer052371DGates reported35Trains per day4,049 vehicles per day2019 road count
- Ayer Station EastAyer970905BOther or not reported34Trains per dayNo road count has been reported.
- Ayer Station WestAyer970906HOther or not reported34Trains per dayNo road count has been reported.
- Willow RoadAyer052368VGates reported28Trains per day3,757 vehicles per day2022 road count
- Willow RoadAyer053758LGates reported7Trains per day3,956 vehicles per day2022 road count
- BROOK STREETAyer053415ESigns reported0Trains per day228 vehicles per day2019 road count
- BISHOP RDAyer053416LSigns reported0Trains per day1,566 vehicles per day2019 road count
- FITCHBURG RDAyer053417TSigns reported0Trains per day5,911 vehicles per day2019 road count
- GROTON SHIRLEY RDAyer053418ASigns reported0Trains per day1,136 vehicles per day2019 road count
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Read about the data.