How many railroad crossings are in Lemont, Illinois?
The federal inventory lists 8 public railroad crossings in Lemont, Illinois.
FRA inventory of .
- Public crossings
- 8
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 5
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 63%
- Most trains a day reported
- 16
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 3
- Gate share compared with the state
- 8 percentage points higher
Where these public crossings are.
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 63% of these crossings.
- Gates563%
- Flashing lights without reported gates00%
- Signs without reported gates or lights00%
- Other or not reported338%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a measure of crossing safety.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
Compare the reported train traffic.
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- TALCOTT AVENUELemont850 vehicles a day2022 road count
- HOLMES STLemont500 vehicles a day2022 road count
- STEPHEN STLemont1,900 vehicles a day2022 road count
- LEMONT STREETLemont1,500 vehicles a day2022 road count
- INDUSTRIAL AVENUELemont650 vehicles a day2022 road count
- LEMONT ROADLemont21,700 vehicles a day2024 road count
- PRUXNE STREETLemont1 vehicle a dayRoad count year not reported
- PED XINGLemont1 vehicle a dayRoad count year not reported
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. How the data works