How many railroad crossings are in Altamont, Illinois?
The federal inventory lists 24 public railroad crossings in Altamont, Illinois.
FRA inventory of .
- Public crossings
- 24
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 24
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 83%
- Most trains a day reported
- 17
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 1
- Gate share compared with the state
- 29 percentage points higher
Where these public crossings are.
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 83% of these crossings.
- Gates2083%
- Flashing lights without reported gates313%
- Signs without reported gates or lights14%
- Other or not reported00%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
Compare the reported train traffic.
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- CR 100 EAltamont50 vehicles a day2023 road count
- CR 775 EAltamont75 vehicles a day2023 road count
- DEXTERAltamont275 vehicles a day2023 road count
- CR 1100Altamont50 vehicles a day2023 road count
- CR 500 EAltamont50 vehicles a day2023 road count
- CR 450 EAltamont300 vehicles a day2023 road count
- EDWARDS STREETAltamont99 vehicles a dayRoad count year not reported
- N MAIN STREETAltamont2,300 vehicles a day2023 road count
- N 2ND STREETAltamont625 vehicles a day2023 road count
- N 3RD STREETAltamont750 vehicles a day2023 road count
- CR 200 EAltamont100 vehicles a day2023 road count
- S 10TH STREETAltamont550 vehicles a day2023 road count
- N 600TH STREETAltamont50 vehicles a day2023 road count
- North 100th StreetAltamont50 vehicles a day2023 road count
- North 200th StreetAltamont100 vehicles a day2023 road count
- North 10th StreetAltamont75 vehicles a day2014 road count
- West Jefferson AvenueAltamont175 vehicles a day2023 road count
- West Madison AvenueAltamont50 vehicles a day2023 road count
- West Monroe AvenueAltamont375 vehicles a day2023 road count
- West Jackson StreetAltamont175 vehicles a day2023 road count
- East 1100th AvenueAltamont150 vehicles a day2023 road count
- East 1200th AvenueAltamont50 vehicles a day2023 road count
- East 1300th AvenueAltamont100 vehicles a day2023 road count
- East 1400 AvenueAltamont75 vehicles a day2023 road count
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates