How many railroad crossings are in Sterling, Colorado?
The federal inventory lists 30 public railroad crossings in Sterling, Colorado.
FRA inventory of .
- Public crossings
- 30
- Public crossings with identified warning devices
- 30
- Public crossings reported with gates
- 30%
- Most trains a day reported
- 10
- Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
- 0
- Gate share compared with the state
- 7 percentage points lower
Where these public crossings are.
Browse the listThe map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.
Gates are reported at 30% of these crossings.
- Gates930%
- Flashing lights without reported gates310%
- Signs without reported gates or lights1860%
- Other or not reported00%
Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.
Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a rating of crossings.
Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.
Compare the reported train traffic.
Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.
- CR 46 AT CR43Sterling330 vehicles a day2026 road count
- CR44 WO CR43Sterling10 vehicles a day2026 road count
- CR38 WO CR43Sterling30 vehicles a day2025 road count
- CR36 WO CR43Sterling30 vehicles a day1989 road count
- CR 34Sterling120 vehicles a day2026 road count
- US138 WO CR43Sterling3,900 vehicles a day2025 road count
- CR 32 2/10Sterling250 vehicles a day2026 road count
- RIGHT OF WAY ROADSterling2,000 vehicles a day2026 road count
- CR 24Sterling50 vehicles a day2026 road count
- CHAMBERS DriveSterling100 vehicles a day2026 road count
- Iris DriveSterling200 vehicles a day2026 road count
- FACTORY STREETSterling50 vehicles a day2026 road count
- CHESTNUT STREETSterling4,450 vehicles a day1985 road count
- Right of Way RoadSterling1,550 vehicles a day2026 road count
- W ENTRANCE TO GWSterling100 vehicles a day1985 road count
- RIGHT OF WAY ROADSterling200 vehicles a day2026 road count
- COUNTY ROAD 34Sterling20 vehicles a day2026 road count
- CR 36Sterling30 vehicles a day2026 road count
- CR 36 1/2Sterling40 vehicles a day2026 road count
- CR370 NO CR 281Sterling50 vehicles a day2026 road count
- RIVERSIDE DRIVESterling20 vehicles a day2026 road count
- RIGHT OF WAY RD-NSterling200 vehicles a day1985 road count
- 2nd st SO WALNUTSterling3,500 vehicles a day2026 road count
- CHESTNUT STREETSterling7,831 vehicles a day2016 road count
- CHESTNUT STREETSterling7,831 vehicles a day2016 road count
- RIGHT OF WAY ROADSterling400 vehicles a day2026 road count
- RIGHT OF WAY ROADSterling400 vehicles a day2026 road count
- RIGHT OF WAY ROADSterling400 vehicles a day2026 road count
- SUGAR MILL ROADSterling200 vehicles a day2026 road count
- Iris DriveSterling100 vehicles a day2026 road count
Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. Sources and dates