How many railroad crossings are in Boulder, Colorado?

The federal inventory lists 13 public railroad crossings in Boulder, Colorado.

FRA inventory of .

Public crossings
13
Public crossings with identified warning devices
11
Public crossings reported with gates
77%
Most trains a day reported
6
Reported incidents at public crossings since 2016
1
Gate share compared with the state
40 percentage points higher

Where these public crossings are.

Browse the list
Crossings on page 1 in Boulder
Loading the map.

The map shows the available locations on this page. Area shading may include crossings outside this group.

Open Boulder in the full map Members

Gates are reported at 77% of these crossings.

  • Gates1077%
  • Flashing lights without reported gates00%
  • Signs without reported gates or lights18%
  • Other or not reported215%

Each crossing appears once, grouped by its reported warning devices. Missing fields don't mean the warning devices are absent.

Incident counts cover January 2016 through 31 July 2026. They describe reported events, not a measure of crossing safety.

Traffic counts were collected at different times. Road count years appear with each record; train count years are not reported separately.

Compare the reported train traffic.

Public crossings are ordered by reported trains a day, from most to lowest.

Page 1 of 1
  1. MINERAL ROADBoulderID 980864BGates6 trains a day
    1 vehicle a day2026 road count
  2. 63RD streetBoulderID 244811YGates3 trains a day
    1,700 vehicles a day2025 road count
  3. 55TH STBoulderID 244813MGates3 trains a day
    7,800 vehicles a day2025 road count
  4. PEARL parkwayBoulderID 244815BGates3 trains a day
    1,200 vehicles a day2025 road count
  5. VALMONT RDBoulderID 244818WGates3 trains a day
    26,900 vehicles a day2025 road count
  6. N 47TH STBoulderID 244821EGates3 trains a day
    1,000 vehicles a day2025 road count
  7. INDEPENDENCE RDBoulderID 244822LGates3 trains a day
    1,654 vehicles a day2025 road count
  8. JAY RDBoulderID 244823TGates3 trains a day
    12,090 vehicles a day2025 road count
  9. N 55TH STBoulderID 244824AGates3 trains a day
    285 vehicles a day2025 road count
  10. N 63RD STBoulderID 244827VGates3 trains a day
    20,000 vehicles a day2025 road count
  11. INDIAN RDBoulderID 804648COther or not reported2 trains a day
    150 vehicles a day2026 road count
  12. BUTTE MILL RDBoulderID 804649JOther or not reported2 trains a day
    3,800 vehicles a day2026 road count
  13. VALMONT RDBoulderID 804650DSigns only2 trains a day
    300 vehicles a day1985 road count

Source: Federal Railroad Administration crossing inventory and reported highway-rail incidents. How the data works